Posted in Books & Stories, Classroom Notes, Motivational

The Cat And Handy Catch Phrases

 

The contented house cat on the prowl just knew, I could tell by the concentration and stealth-to-pounce position it was in, it was going to catch it’s target. I couldn’t see the target from the other side of the street but it sure could. Like a bolt of lightening it leapt, I heard annoyed chirping, wings flapping, saw a small bird reach altitude as the housecat, no longer as self-assured yet still rotund with its shiny-clean fur now on the other side of the low bush looking around somewhat perplexed, “where’d the bird go?” It took a moment before it decided to move feeling a little sheepish? He wasn’t exactly in shape for it… possibly remembering the good ol’ days. Not to worry, there’ll be warm milk and gourmet cat food at home. No doubt someone will be there to brush its fur…

 

I read something in the paper about an actor who in many of his movie posters is leaning back or leaning on someone and it was associated with memes, meme with learning. What has that to do with meme? Something over my head… I don’t get it as Sherman oft said to Mr. Peabody but that’s ok. What I do remember as an undergrad an instructor who said I should have a meme to associate with what I’m learning so when it’s time for a test it’ll be easier to recall the information. Now he was a graduate student and I was a lot older but I’m supposed to listen and being me, well; let me tell you. According to my instructor, I should have this word that’s supposed to trigger something that’s supposed to trigger something that’s supposed to trigger something that’s supposed to bring to mind what I need to answer the question kind of like Chinese checkers. Take your marble and jump, jump, jump, jump, collect all the marbles you’ve jumped, get to the other edge of the board to win. (Who hadn’t loved lining things up to clear the board with one move) However, I’m exhausted already from all that thinking, the pressure to remember what on earth I’m remembering the word for, and I haven’t answered the first question yet. Instead of collecting marbles and winning the prize I think I’ve lost them…

 

Makes more sense to just study instead of stressing over forgetting the go-to word.