Posted in Books & Stories, Fiction & Poetry, Flashback And Memoir

Friendly Ghosts

“I wanted to give him vitamins

Yes I did

Don’t let me forget”

She sat staring at the salt lamp glow

For no apparent reason

No

She sat staring at the salt lamp glow

Was it because of Jimmy Stewart in that movie

He quoted Neruda throughout

“I had a book of his works”

She’d thought as she watched wishing it were still around

Or had recollection of what had happened to it

Did she leave it behind somewhere

“What am I watching

The lamp doesn’t move

Though improving quality of air”

She sat with that sleepy stare

And nothing has to rhyme either

Still she sat

“I want to give him vitamins, get up”

As she fixed her typos from two hands of thumbs

“May be a sign, no, it is a sign

Stop

Make a breakfast smoothie too”

That was it

She got up

 

Author:

I’m a self-published author of two books, a blogger, grandma, mom, auntie and friend... I’m also a TEFL instructor, have lived in a few other countries besides the US. I love walking, cooking, reading, traveling, teaching, learning, language, movies, vampires, mummies, zombies, other assorted creatures of the night, science fiction, romance, action, adventure, classics, Latin, Soave, Chianti, D’Abruzzo, Ouzo, Sambuca, Bulleit Bourbon, Plato, the ocean and tanning.

Leave a Reply

