Posted in Books & Stories, Flashback And Memoir, Motivational, Thought Food

Propaganda And Peace Treaties

Did the AC kick on? Is that me? Gee, I hope not, I’ve the door open and the fan on to let fresh air in to clear my head, unstuff my nose from artificial cool, so I get up and wander through listening. It’s everyone else outside as all units kicked in but mine. Good. Let’s see how far into the morning I can go before the door must be closed and the AC gets to play. For now birds chirp loud and clear, land on the wood rail looking for stale bread… word got around I leave stuff out from time to time. You just never know when.

And so the morning begins, the sky brightens a bit, cool breeze on my legs and an espresso before it’s too hot out to drink it. Of course, nothing wrong with it iced.

That reminds me…

Iced coffee might seem simple, even as a request in a café but not everywhere. I was teaching in Istanbul and of course frequented the local Starbucks, a prestigious place for coffee according to many Turks. One day I ordered an iced espresso, an item not on the list of coffees served. To my surprise I totally confused the two baristas behind the counter. It was easier for them to think I was a buffoon who didn’t know her coffee than for them to add ice to my espresso. My best charades getting us nowhere I wasn’t much better toward them totally aghast they couldn’t fulfill my simple request. I got it hot and we parted making cranky faces at each other. The next time I went the lightbulb was on. I ordered espresso, then asked for a cup of ice. Easy. They were wondering what I was doing but I had made two understandable requests exclusive of each other. First I added sugar to the hot beverage then took the espresso and poured it over the ice. I raised my cup and smiled big, they looked with delighted surprise at the cup, then each other laughing. They told their manager about it. After that it was put on the menu: Iced Coffee.

We were temporarily lost in translation, no more than that resulting in a chip being made in the language barrier, a hand extended toward getting along. Good business I think.

IMG_2947

 

Author:

I’m a self-published author of two books, a blogger, grandma, mom, auntie and friend... I’m also a TEFL instructor, have lived in a few other countries besides the US. I love walking, cooking, reading, traveling, teaching, learning, language, movies, vampires, mummies, zombies, other assorted creatures of the night, science fiction, romance, action, adventure, classics, Latin, Soave, Chianti, D’Abruzzo, Ouzo, Sambuca, Bulleit Bourbon, Plato, the ocean and tanning.

7 thoughts on “Propaganda And Peace Treaties

  1. Kinda funny. I love Turkish coffee as it’s made in the states. Deep, rich, thick. I love iced coffee, cold brew, even blended — I love coffee. I’m glad you taught them so simply, I can imagine their smiles!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was as if we’d become friends. I keep Turkish coffee ☕️ in the house along with my Italian espresso I’m forever writing odes to. Even had a lesson in how to prepare it. It is good stuff. Never did learn how to read the grinds though. In the first months I was there I’d learned when you finished your coffee put the saucer over the cup, turn it over, and someone with the “expertise” can read the grinds to tell the future. The thing is if the cup is turned over in your direction it’s your future , but if it’s turned away from you it’s the other persons future.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do buy Italian espresso beans, but I don’t even think I’ve seen Turkish… Not that I know the art of it anyway.
        I’ve heard about the reading of the grounds, but I’ve never experienced it. Interesting, charming tradition.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I order Turkish coffee through Amazon and that’s where I bought the coffee pot, a long-handled copper thing… my son met his wife in Istanbul and she gave me the lesson one morning we Face-timed. It’s simple but requires a few minutes. There’s no Keurig coffee maker or stovetop percolator. You’ve got to stir it, skim the froth that forms into your cup and when there’s no more froth bubbling on top the coffee’s done. You pour it into the cup.

        On that note I think I’m going to make some this morning!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. You’re welcome and I posted a photo at the bottom of propaganda in peace treaties so you’ll see exactly the best Turkish coffee and the style of pot you need to make it authentic

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

