Posted in Books & Stories, Improv, Just Poetry, new year

Off The Cuff In A Bikini Top

 

 Nothing to do with cuffs as the expression goes

Nor cufflinks

Back to bikinis though

At my age should I care?

Not at all

If you don’t like what you see

Look away from me

You know, over there

 

It’s Sunday morning and I’m not worried, nary a care with two more days to spare

Holidays ahead, festivities to be had

What will I do in order to keep relaxing?

Right now collecting vitamin D from the sun calorie free

Did that yesterday too

That’s the best way as sweat drips the best cleanser there is

I stay over my blanket droplets not on the phone where I record what’s on my mind

Later on I’ll go inside, type then post so you can see what’s going on today

 

Believe it or not I went to the store earlier

To see if they have my favorite hot cocoa

Whoever heard of hot cocoa in 87° heat but stockpile it why not

My need half-and-half for my espresso though in this weather I don’t drink as much

It makes me sweat

Again cleanses the body so that’s not bad

All these thoughts taking a gander through hoping to pass the time

I won’t read that I don’t want to drip on my book

The pages will wrinkle and warp

T’would be a shame so I’ll stop now wrap it up

Relax see how much time I’ve taken

If I have to turn back for one last few minutes of toasting

Before I go in

As the air conditioning begins

 

 

Author:

I’m a self-published author of two books, a blogger, grandma, mom, auntie and friend... I’m also a TEFL instructor, have lived in a few other countries besides the US. I love walking, cooking, reading, traveling, teaching, learning, language, movies, vampires, mummies, zombies, other assorted creatures of the night, science fiction, romance, action, adventure, classics, Latin, Soave, Chianti, D’Abruzzo, Ouzo, Sambuca, Bulleit Bourbon, Plato, the ocean and tanning.

Leave a Reply

