Posted in Books & Stories, Just Poetry

Cleaning Out the Fish Tank

 

Scared the fish to death

Or were they just waiting for food

What are these extra dark little bits

Suddenly floating around

Little fishy defecatery

A new word I came up with

Poetic licensure aside

“What’s she doing now?”

Don’t worry darlings

Just making ready for what our future might bring

Certainly not a fish fry

With this tiny size

Not even a mouthful could be

 

Have I told you how much I like fish?

Did the catfish try to bite me?

Shouldn’t bite the hand that feeds

Fat contented cat

More like annoyed I disturbed his spot

Behavior so typical

Were you a feline in another life?

Now swim to the other side

The other corner on the bottom

Nowhere really left to hide

Just the gravel and you

Still

 

The fact they’re all loved and well fed

As they glide around

I gather up the extra stones

The treasures atop the gravel

In an attempt to protect the environment

As clean as can possibly be

A new home for them we’ll find

The magnificent 7

5 Stripes and two Corys

All healthy and happy too

Not too out of line my prediction

Stick with me

 

I’m on your side

For us both to survive

 

 

Author:

I’m a self-published author of two books, a blogger, grandma, mom, auntie and friend... I’m also a TEFL instructor, have lived in a few other countries besides the US. I love walking, cooking, reading, traveling, teaching, learning, language, movies, vampires, mummies, zombies, other assorted creatures of the night, science fiction, romance, action, adventure, classics, Latin, Soave, Chianti, D’Abruzzo, Ouzo, Sambuca, Bulleit Bourbon, Plato, the ocean and tanning.

Leave a Reply

