Posted in Books & Stories, Improv, new year

Does It Still Feel New: May 10, 2017

It’s one of those thunderstorms, not the one that’s supposed to bring the temperature down but one that’s backfiring, raining a little, couple claps of thunder, surprise flash of lightening then nothing. The wind dies, the rain stops, it gets real still and the humidity goes through the roof while the temperature remains too high. 81 is too high for May 10th during the day never mind 10:30 at night, and the way it’s going there will be no 60-anything. The question is do I want to open the couple windows I have cracked wide, do I want to just turn the fan on low for a breeze I can sleep with, try to crash to a movie, what? I look outside and see people like me with sliding doors open refusing to run AC this soon in the year. The need is inevitable but I’d like another month before I have to face what happens to the utility bill. A month and a half’s better.

It’s still and quiet now. Maddening!

