Posted in Books & Stories, Just Poetry

Battle

 

Forgot my raincoat

Running back home before the bus arrives

The wind fighting me

Blowing me back is what it seems

No don’t seem

Be

Esse quam videre

It can’t be real

My jacket flapping in the breeze

Pulling me

I won’t stop

Trying to wrap around me Nefertiti

Grabbing my hands

Catching my wrists

No

Made it to the parking lot

A couple more strides

Now in

Didn’t have parking lots in Egyptian times

Did they?

Not so advanced

Or were they?

Are parking lots advancement

Coating asphalt over earth?

Made it inside

Snatched up my prize

Raincoat over my arm

Let it pour

Checked transport radar and there’s still time

Out the door to the corner

I’ll catch the bus here

 

 

 

 

Author:

I’m a self-published author of two books, a blogger, grandma, mom, auntie and friend... I’m also a TEFL instructor, have lived in a few other countries besides the US. I love walking, cooking, reading, traveling, teaching, learning, language, movies, vampires, mummies, zombies, other assorted creatures of the night, science fiction, romance, action, adventure, classics, Latin, Soave, Chianti, D’Abruzzo, Ouzo, Sambuca, Bulleit Bourbon, Plato, the ocean and tanning.

Leave a Reply

