Posted in Non-Fiction And Poetry

Lambs Lay With Lions, Lions Lay With Lambs

 

 

Looking out the window as the sky shrugs off light

I think about March and the turmoil it brings

Such a rocky month

Especially this last week

Nothing but rain and severe weather threats

During unseasonably warm

But March swears no allegiance to any season

Leaving nothing unseasonable about its change

 

Going out like a lion came in like a lamb

Runs through my mind

How does that saying go?

But I heard it both ways in my youth

So if doesn’t do one it’ll do the other

It certainly didn’t come in like a lion

But it’s going out like one as far as I can see

What does that mean

 

The best place to look

The Farmers Almanac

The only dependable book and weatherman we have

Has been over time

For years and years

That prediction just a saying it clears once and for all

About lions and lambs

We all hope for the best is the best we can do

 

March doesn’t rest is all that we know

Read further down to see

What could be the most accurate forecast?

I’m not surprised at what I read

Northeast, New England’s increasing clouds

Becoming unsettled is to say the least

They’ve had mounds of snow

I know, it’s where some of my family resides

 

Midwest where I am more stormy weather

No kidding

Another tornado watch

On a quiet night a surprise

But more rain all the same

And those winds kicking up, had whistled around all day

The sun peeks through now and again

Not interfering with winter’s duel with spring

Saying goodbye isn’t easy

More often tears it does bring

From what I’ve seen that’s a perfectly broken heart

Don’t mess with Mother Nature

The origin of Alpha

The Sun remains patiently for the clouds to move on

April may bring showers or wait until May

I’ve seen that before too

 

I turn toward the door

More light coming through on this gray day

All perfect gray hues except there’re greens

New greens pale not yet bold

Broken cookies left on the railing haven’t yet washed away

Is that why the birds haven’t eaten them?

Food for thought

Anyway, March the Lion has a few more days

 

 

 

Author:

I’m a self-published author of two books, a blogger, grandma, mom, auntie and friend... I’m also a TEFL instructor, have lived in a few other countries besides the US. I love walking, cooking, reading, traveling, teaching, learning, language, movies, vampires, mummies, zombies, other assorted creatures of the night, science fiction, romance, action, adventure, classics, Latin, Soave, Chianti, D’Abruzzo, Ouzo, Sambuca, Bulleit Bourbon, Plato, the ocean and tanning.

Leave a Reply

