Posted in Books & Stories, Improv

Halfway Over: Feb 2017

 

 

Or is it halfway-full… halfway begun… halfway beginning, nah, sounds like we haven’t started yet, like the motor won’t kick over. Depending on what you’re looking forward to, halfway over could be a very good thing as the new year keeps ticking forward… something like that. It’s just too early to wax philosophical… yes, I woke before the alarm today. Still dark, very peaceful but my grandson is sleeping over so I know I’ll be finishing this up in the evening.

In any case I’ve been thinking that over all these years, being aware now there’s not much difference but, it’s amazing that 28 days makes it seem a short month though it’s only a matter of 2-3 days difference from all the others. Since I was a kid February was “the short month “as if a full week were missing and we’ll hurry up and be over with it which got us closer to summer vacation not having work to worry about. Actually it was closer to spring and Easter first, then the other but there couldn’t be any doubt it was a good time of transition. Not that we thought transition but it was change, the smell of spring and an excitement of changing weather in the air. Anyway, I don’t think I knew anyone who didn’t refer to it as short. It’s the same principle that made it annoying a month only had thirty days and not 31. Why were 31 days so important? I remember gown-ups saying “only 30 days this month”… only?

We’ve had a blend of winter and spring – cold at night, warmer during the day (around 40), while the east has had 10 inches of snow – I keep seeing pictures of nieces and nephews with mounds left behind by the plows – behind them literally as the backdrop – wearing snow gear and big smiles finding myself thinking “isn’t that melted yet…”? No, not yet. Seeing we’ve had some severe weather earlier than usual I’m wondering if we won’t get zapped again. If it’s going to happen it’ll be soon.

It better hurry up before we run out of February.

 

Author:

I’m a self-published author of two books, a blogger, grandma, mom, auntie and friend... I’m also a TEFL instructor, have lived in a few other countries besides the US. I love walking, cooking, reading, traveling, teaching, learning, language, movies, vampires, mummies, zombies, other assorted creatures of the night, science fiction, romance, action, adventure, classics, Latin, Soave, Chianti, D’Abruzzo, Ouzo, Sambuca, Bulleit Bourbon, Plato, the ocean and tanning.

Leave a Reply

