Posted in Books & Stories, Fiction & Poetry

Ghosts Of Christmas Past Have Nothing On The Horns In The Back Of My Head

 

 

We’re really not friends

We never were

But the boss asked

To bring a treat

Thanksgiving celebration tomorrow

We celebrate as one

Let’s eat

 

Not one for a grudge it popped not to mind

Not right away

I thought maybe a pie

I had fresh fruit washed and cleaned in the freezer

When the garden folk frequently stopped by

For the longest time I’d wanted it

To make you see

But never got round to it, at least not yet

Now good as any

 

The boss was out the day you committed the crime

Something felt not right about making a pie

Why

 

It popped to mind what’d been done

The disrespect and my heart sank

How so many of you had made fun

It was my birthday but to celebrate nigh

Well forgot and forgot me not on that same day

Our friend’s farewell lunch was preferred

Fine with me I knew her before any of you

Still the dish I made went cold

An Italian feast from scratch

 

You thumbed your nose up

A couple lied it was good, mmmmm

Calling me into the kitchen to get it before it was gone

But it wasn’t touched

You watched me emerge

What did you expect to see

That’s ok

Knowing what to do

I took it home and bagged it up

Fed me good several meals to come

But what to do with you and the celebration at hand

 

It occurred to me as I was relaxing

 

The couple of friends there would understand

That’s what friends do

They’ll get a kick out of it too

Bought in the store for $2.98

Tear open the bag and pour

Sufficient enough and no more

Part of dessert

Fair enough that it could be true

 

The Spirit of Participation and Thanksgiving celebration with you

 

 

Author:

I’m a self-published author of two books, a blogger, grandma, mom, auntie and friend... I’m also a TEFL instructor, have lived in a few other countries besides the US. I love walking, cooking, reading, traveling, teaching, learning, language, movies, vampires, mummies, zombies, other assorted creatures of the night, science fiction, romance, action, adventure, classics, Latin, Soave, Chianti, D’Abruzzo, Ouzo, Sambuca, Bulleit Bourbon, Plato, the ocean and tanning.

Leave a Reply

