Posted in Books & Stories, Fiction & Poetry

The Girl With No Shoelaces Fell Back Thrice

 

Well I woke with the sun out

In spite of it all

Then a memory came to call

“Came to call” don’t know if I want to rhyme that

Keep it on the back burner for now

 

Wonder how I’d write it without word limitations

I did do that once, maybe twice

It’s an old piece I modified for an event

A writing challenge in fact

Whittle it to 100 words

How about that

But if I didn’t have to what would I’ve said

This time around…

 

 

“We used to meet up, us three

 

Regulars who lent character, created atmosphere

 

Well we did and Reggie too

 

You cooked so your sister’d be spoiled

 

That was easy for you

 

Burger madness Sunday night

 

Salmon always for me

 

The wait staff always welcoming

 

‘Come right in’

 

We were people they liked to see

 

How about that

 

 

It caught in my throat as I walked

 

It wasn’t too far from my place

 

The room where I lived

 

Not much exercise to boast

 

Mind wanders nonetheless

 

How will it feel, no need to ask

 

I know

 

 

Still I go (went, well you know)

 

I sigh

 

It’s new place now with a new name

 

As my thoughts change and consider desserts

 

But my reflection as I passed restaurant glass gave a jab to distract from the stab

 

I crossed decadence off

 

Instead a small scoop, chocolate drizzle, iced coffee combined

 

Red Rooster called it Coffee Royale

 

Wonder if they still sell it

 

As cicadas numerous as biblical plagues

 

Drowned music piped feasting on trees

 

Yet through it all what remains

 

When all’s said and done, I won’t return

 

To the memories so thick

 

 

Miss you son”

 

 

No matter how I put it

It still crushes my heart but I don’t mind

They were good times

And recent events current with now, just now

They went out of business

Serves them right

There was only one

No restaurant could compare

It stayed open years and years

New office space in its place

Something different should be there

 

 

 

 

Author:

I’m a self-published author of two books, a blogger, grandma, mom, auntie and friend... I’m also a TEFL instructor, have lived in a few other countries besides the US. I love walking, cooking, reading, traveling, teaching, learning, language, movies, vampires, mummies, zombies, other assorted creatures of the night, science fiction, romance, action, adventure, classics, Latin, Soave, Chianti, D’Abruzzo, Ouzo, Sambuca, Bulleit Bourbon, Plato, the ocean and tanning.

2 thoughts on “The Girl With No Shoelaces Fell Back Thrice

    1. Some things one should have respect for, in this case the town. The place became a landmark in its time. The establishment trying to step in learned vanity doesn’t pay, or not. Hard to tell nowadays.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

