Posted in Books & Stories, Flashes, Just Sayin'

Never Underestimate…

 

What do I want to say today? Good morning world… yes but how?

 

 

 

Good morning world!

Ha!

 

 

Looking over old posts I thought maybe I’d take something out, dust it off and see what I could make of it whether expand on it, turn it into a different story or add a chapter where there weren’t any. I’m looking out at the rain that wasn’t supposed to be until 10 a.m. at 20 minutes to 7 right now. Spring does what spring does having the responsibility of waking up plants and making things grow. Is it responsibility or just something that happens naturally? Is that such a ridiculous question? Nothing too heavy to contemplate in the morning; I have the week off after all.

 

So here are a couple, and with them I might decide what to do – oh dear, rhyming.No, it doesn’t rhyme now that I changed from “here’s a few” to “a couple”.  Well, why not I say as the sun begins to shine.  Esse quam videre, better to be than seem (to be or not) – always liked that.

 

Standing Up For Your Kids: Soft Cloth (AKA Take That!)

 

“When I first sent the friend request, there was a bit of relish behind the notion of telling you off. I decided it wasn’t worth it, not that at times there aren’t things that need be said. Then I thought I’d start a healing process. Healing for what exactly? We’ve never been friends. After what you did to my son we’re never going to be. Any salutation or good will wish would be false on my part. I have no desire to extend my arm around you and say, “Let bygones be bygones.” As victims of a pre-meditated attempted murder, I don’t think we owe you, the perpetrator, anything.

 

All this to say I’m removing you from my friends list. I guess something was said after all. So much for the soft cloth mom theory. If you wish to use any of this for personal or professional dissertation, you must purchase the rights to my property from me first.”

 

 

An Unfinished Writing Challenge

 

“She closed the book, placed it on the table and finally decided to walk through the door. There was no back deck and she fell face first in the mud. She awoke with a nudge… nudge… nudge. Standing over her was a T-Rex with long arms. He smiled. ‎”My name is Rogue. Are you ok?” “Huh?” Stunned by the fall she slurred, “You talk… y-yh-yhoo talh… k.” Her eyes rolled back, her body went limp. She dreamt of falling in darkness.”

 

 

 

I don’t know. Let’s see what I come up with…

 

Author:

I’m a self-published author of two books, a blogger, grandma, mom, auntie and friend... I’m also a TEFL instructor, have lived in a few other countries besides the US. I love walking, cooking, reading, traveling, teaching, learning, language, movies, vampires, mummies, zombies, other assorted creatures of the night, science fiction, romance, action, adventure, classics, Latin, Soave, Chianti, D’Abruzzo, Ouzo, Sambuca, Bulleit Bourbon, Plato, the ocean and tanning.

Leave a Reply

