Posted in Fiction & Poetry

Saturday

 

Tornado today

Who knew?

I heard a bzz-bzz-bzz coming from a source

Which one?

I say in passing

Our cells comes the reply

We have a warning I ask

Listen

There the sirens go

 

Oh

 

The complex manager calls

Come to the shelter

We have a shelter she asks

A quick description

Get your asses down the retort

Ok then

Grab the raincoats

But I don’t have one as rain pelts

On the list to do

 

I will

 

A Lightening McQueen umbrella

This small

Get a real pair of shoes no flip-flops

She growls

I look, take the cell, the iPad

Should I grab any more?

Hasn’t touched down on us yet

But five miles out

I breathe a prayer of protection

 

Over the laptop

 

Move it from the window to a safe spot

Watch over the power cords amen

Do we have keys I say voice clear

Yup

Ok we’re out

We walk in the rain

Our landlady scowls

Get in hurry up

Yes Ma’am

 

A room full of people

Many no shoes

All with cells watching the storm

What does the radar say?

As the second siren sounds

More people come

Watch until six as the Tablet comes out

And a child plays

Snacks passed around

 

Good thinking – ok

 

Jokes about Twister

No need for concern or worry

Strap yourself to a pipe

After running through farm knifes

Used for hacking

The Tornado lifts legs easy now

All appendages stay

As you look up the center swirl

Wow, get a load of that

 

Laughter while we wait

 

Now it’s taken a turn

Northwest

That’s moving away over there

We get up to get going

The storm’s passed

We wander back

Get into cars check on those we like

Go get the mail

The dishwasher started

 

The laundry too

 

Though first I wanted to put down a few words

So inspired that I was

For you

How’s your Saturday so far?

I’m getting back to my movie

Lie down and chill

Get a bottle of water

I bought earlier today

When the sun shone

 

Good thing we cancelled the carwash

Raise those funds a less volatile day

 

Author:

I’m a self-published author of two books, a blogger, grandma, mom, auntie and friend... I’m also a TEFL instructor, have lived in a few other countries besides the US. I love walking, cooking, reading, traveling, teaching, learning, language, movies, vampires, mummies, zombies, other assorted creatures of the night, science fiction, romance, action, adventure, classics, Latin, Soave, Chianti, D’Abruzzo, Ouzo, Sambuca, Bulleit Bourbon, Plato, the ocean and tanning.

Leave a Reply

