Posted in Fiction & Poetry

Twilight

 

Fresh crisp liquid I savor

As an elegant pearl onion works its way

Through crushed ice

To a pinnacle, yes, at the bottom of the glass

Crystal frosted etched design

Lucid

 

Like my grandfather used to make

That brought a tear to my eye

Way back when

 

Another with broken icebergs

Floating

As a second pearl rests

Still, sophisticated

I drink and am awakened

I absorb flavors deep

And exhale heady refreshness

The world sparkles

Eyes shine

 

A pitchfork swizzle, I spear my jewel prize

Glass chink-clinks

And I imagine years past

Strapless dresses

Straight skirts and suits

A ceiling fan hums

 

Of all the gin joints

I hear in my mind

But it was only a movie

 

Cold steam in my eyes

We’ll always have Martini

Drink deep, I imbibe

 

Author:

I’m a self-published author of two books, a blogger, grandma, mom, auntie and friend... I’m also a TEFL instructor, have lived in a few other countries besides the US. I love walking, cooking, reading, traveling, teaching, learning, language, movies, vampires, mummies, zombies, other assorted creatures of the night, science fiction, romance, action, adventure, classics, Latin, Soave, Chianti, D’Abruzzo, Ouzo, Sambuca, Bulleit Bourbon, Plato, the ocean and tanning.

4 thoughts on “Twilight

  1. Very deep. But I’d like to ask you why you would title your poem ‘Twilight’? It caught my eye. Your poem is very soothing. I just uploaded a new poem as well. Please have a look. 😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

