Posted in Best Wishes, Fiction & Poetry

Those I’ll Keep

 

 

As I put the decorations away I

Separated out what I’d bought

This time around

These I’ll keep

Tinsel, new garland

Draping into a box surround

A Santa in a basket made

When my son was a boy

Kindergarten I believe

An odd-shaped Santa statue from abroad

A gift from students, snowman too

I recall thinking “is this how you see me”

Jolly, round, rosy cheeks

A glass high-heel, no tradition there

Not my favorite one

But my daughter written all over it

Cinderella slipper-ornament has become

As I put the decorations away I

Gently pressed the lid

Till next year

My next year

 

For now we begin

 

 

https://jfb57.wordpress.com/2015/01/06/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups-week162/

 

 

100wcgu-7

 

 

The first prompt for 2015 is:

 

… As I put the decorations away I

 

 

Author:

I’m a self-published author of two books, a blogger, grandma, mom, auntie and friend... I’m also a TEFL instructor, have lived in a few other countries besides the US. I love walking, cooking, reading, traveling, teaching, learning, language, movies, vampires, mummies, zombies, other assorted creatures of the night, science fiction, romance, action, adventure, classics, Latin, Soave, Chianti, D’Abruzzo, Ouzo, Sambuca, Bulleit Bourbon, Plato, the ocean and tanning.

3 thoughts on “Those I’ll Keep

Leave a Reply

