Posted in Flashback And Memoir

Past, Present and Future In A Blink

 

Do I remember good times, you bet. A new grandson’s on the way and the First I’ve witnessed becoming a miniature person. It’s not over yet and always a wonder to me, like watching a flower in slow motion, to see.

Sorry there aren’t other events. Having been ‘cloistered’ granny-nanny until recently I hadn’t gotten to traveling anywhere noteworthy, but I’ve seen some good movies, went Christmas shopping online, bought a bottle of Prosecco to toast the new year after I tuck my grandson in and utilize what remains in a mimosa, straight juice for him, for January 1st’s brunch.

100wcgu-7

http://jfb57.wordpress.com/2014/12/29/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups-week161/

The Prompt: “…think about your past year… Remember a good time, experience, meeting or event and share it in 100 words.”

Author:

I’m a self-published author of two books, a blogger, grandma, mom, auntie and friend... I’m also a TEFL instructor, have lived in a few other countries besides the US. I love walking, cooking, reading, traveling, teaching, learning, language, movies, vampires, mummies, zombies, other assorted creatures of the night, science fiction, romance, action, adventure, classics, Latin, Soave, Chianti, D’Abruzzo, Ouzo, Sambuca, Bulleit Bourbon, Plato, the ocean and tanning.

4 thoughts on “Past, Present and Future In A Blink

  1. This year has had some great times but most noteworthy was the beginning of my own mid-life awareness as my son turns 18 and we settle on a college for next year – most insightful however has been hearing the complaints he makes. They are exactly, nearly word for word, the same exact things I said to my parents when I was his age. The same misguided frustration at everything in general, the same inexperienced view of the world and all of the people in it, the same desire to get away from this area and on and on.
    It has resulted in my own thoughts over how he will fare in the world and whether or not I have truly prepared him to become a successful adult. It has also given me a perspective I have never had until now – I am officially no longer simply a parent trying to figure it all out. Now I feel somehow more accomplished than that as I have created and protected and guided another human being from earliest beginning to adulthood. It feels sort of like I have graduated from one stage to another.

    Like

    1. When grandkids come you feel you might know something. It’s amazing the relationships that can develop.

      When my son was in college, even late high school he became aware he could give me the “man perspective” on things. He’d listen and say “that’s not how a man would do it. Would you like to know what a man would say” or “…what a man would do”? I’d welcome it.

      With all that could happen I think it just keeps getting better and better. Watching both my kids grow I’d see myself. Many times I’d said “you get that from me… sorry!” I was told way back your daughter is your best friend for life but let me tell you about my son. We are friends, colleagues, were students together, and yeah, I’m his mom too. He’ll be a dad soon to his own little boy.

      Nothing like life.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

