Posted in Fiction & Poetry

Jumbled

 

I sat with my books

And came across a notation

About a pub I frequented a lot

 

Redundant, should change that

 

I’d get my pint and pizza

Sit and write

The game played on the big screen above

A lively-noisy place but for a waitress who assumed

Me an idiot for using a dictionary to communicate

 

No tip

 

A point not easy to get me to

I’m a New Yorker

Not tipping is sacrilege

I was living abroad you see

I sat closer to the bar where she’d be watched

The owner knew me at least

 

I was there enough but I’d said that

 

A victim of menopause throes

Thank goodness that’s done

No one knew

Wearing sandals in winter was a treat

Though menopause you can keep

Thinking that, what good does it do?

 

Not much

 

It’s late or it’s early

Where are you sleep

Wonder if I stopped, snuggled in

Closing my eyes

Would it work?

Guess I’ll give it a try

 

Damn, need another tissue

 

Author:

I’m a self-published author of two books, a blogger, grandma, mom, auntie and friend... I’m also a TEFL instructor, have lived in a few other countries besides the US. I love walking, cooking, reading, traveling, teaching, learning, language, movies, vampires, mummies, zombies, other assorted creatures of the night, science fiction, romance, action, adventure, classics, Latin, Soave, Chianti, D’Abruzzo, Ouzo, Sambuca, Bulleit Bourbon, Plato, the ocean and tanning.

Leave a Reply

