Posted in Fiction & Poetry

Sandmen

 

 

As the waves gently lapped

I see

Silver foam fingers reaching

Drawing me

From sand and the blanket I lay

They beckon

 

Cool down, come hither

 

I sit up, I consider

As the sun grips my shoulders

I let imagination run

Creative relaxation

Could be fun

So

 

If a whale swallowed me whole

Could I be Gepetto and survive?

Or maybe Jonah reborn?

Will someone slit the belly?

So I’m released

Contingent if it’s beached

 

Shouldn’t Pinocchio be included in the rhyme?

 

But

The Sandman at my side

I stretched back in the sun

Breath matching the tide

Until it pulls away

Right here I stay

 

100wcgu-7

 

your prompt this week is:

… as the waves gently lapped I ….

 

http://jfb57.wordpress.com/2014/09/15/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups-week148/

 

 

Author:

I’m a self-published author of two books, a blogger, grandma, mom, auntie and friend... I’m also a TEFL instructor, have lived in a few other countries besides the US. I love walking, cooking, reading, traveling, teaching, learning, language, movies, vampires, mummies, zombies, other assorted creatures of the night, science fiction, romance, action, adventure, classics, Latin, Soave, Chianti, D’Abruzzo, Ouzo, Sambuca, Bulleit Bourbon, Plato, the ocean and tanning.

One thought on “Sandmen

Leave a Reply

