Without Further Ado (And Editing) May I Present…

 

Michael Jackson wrote a song about ‘Remember the Time’ and the Stones had an early hit named ‘Time Is On My Side’. Jim Croce sang a beautiful ballad called ‘Time in a Bottle’ while the Chambers Brothers sang a heavier version of ‘Time Has Come Today’. Remember when Jim Croce died and some talk show had his widow singing one of his songs and she cried though the whole thing? I remember thinking ‘insensitive’ and ‘sadists’. Had he left a baby behind too? Those days most people were high. Strong argument for how it dulls the brain, wouldn’t you say?

 

The time is 4:51 a.m. The muse doesn’t discriminate when it comes to time. It seems it’s time for me to write in Times New Roman font (har – I know, it’s a stretch). Luckily I fell asleep early without movie to lull me, trick my eyelids to close. Although there are 24-hour grocery stores, when there’s more light in the sky, when daylight cracks its lids for me to see its promise, it’ll be time for me to go shopping. Good thing too – when I open the fridge moths fly out complaining the ketchup, mayonnaise and ranch dressing aren’t very talkative. Make no mistake, I’m not a ranch dressing person although bacon-ranch makes it more tolerable, but my grandson is. He calls it sauce and dips pizza, chicken sticks, fish sticks and occasionally french fries in it – yuk – but he likes it. My spell check says it’s time to redline french fries for capitalization. Should I? It’s a name but nothing formal. Now if I were speaking French that would be different. Hmm.

 

According to physics and postulated by Einstein and his fellow scientist-geniuses in IQ, time doesn’t exist. We’ve got past and future but the present fleets by us and we’re never in the present but in the past. True. We don’t have time to say it’s gone before it’s way passed. Time goes by faster than the speed of light, faster than space travel. I live in the present – not. Man made time to chop up the day for profit, to get us to school on time. Maybe big business was the angel that was cast out of heaven, fell to earth, and that’s when time began. Gives a little kick to the saying ‘learn from the past’. Guess we don’t have to go too far back. Then again if we sit too long and think, we’ve just made ancient history.

 

How am I doing so far for a person who was at a loss as to what to write about time?
Dial 1-800…
Like those bumper stickers that ask how we like the driver’s driving and give a number to call. While driving isn’t the time to start pressing buttons on a cell, and if we don’t like the *@#!!^* person’s driving we might be more apt to take the time to yell out the window.

 

Remember times of innocence
Were we ever?
Just born
What I call fresh from God
Sure we were
We’ve acted in innocence too
Though it may’ve turned into ‘my bad’
Still can

Remember the time we went to Florida
And sailed the glass-bottom boats?
Remember when I bought cans of sunshine
Could I have been any more of a touristy-Yankee from NY?
The very reason the sunshine was canned
(Partly heartfelt
Sharing southern warmth)
Was for times like this and people like me
I don’t mind

…Time

 

___________________________________

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “time.”

 

socs-badge

http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/08/15/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-august-1614/

 

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

